Building capacity to help Africa trade better


Tariffs on intra-Africa trade

Share on
Tariffs on intra-Africa trade
21 Mar 2019

This 3-page infographic provides an overview of tariff measures adopted by African countries on intra-Africa trade.

Many African countries trade under preferential trading arrangements of their regional economic communities (RECs) which offer tariff presences on intra-REC trade for those countries which are members of their RECs’s Free Trade Agreements (FTAs) or Customs Unions.

Intra-Africa imports from outside the territories of those FTAs or Customs Unions are levied the general applied tariff (those countries not members of the World Trade Organisation) or the Most Favoured Nation applied tariff of the destination market.

Regional Economic Communities: Tariffs overview

Of the 21 member states of COMESA, only 16 are part of the COMESA FTA. eSwatini has preferential access under a derogation, but is exempt from reciprocating preferences due to its membership of SACU.

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) has 16 member states, 13 of which are members of the SADC FTA. Comoros, Angola and DRC are yet to join the SADC FTA.

The Southern African Customs Union (SACU), East African Community (EAC), Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) and Economic and Monetary Union of Central African States (CEMAC) all have common external tariffs (CETs) in place. Preferential tariffs are granted for intra-REC imports, while CETs are the MFN applied tariffs. In ECOWAS, Cape Verde is the only exception. As a member of ECOWAS, intra-ECOWAS imports from Cape Verde are granted preferential access, but it is still in the process of implementing the ECOWAS CET on extra-REC imports.

Tell us what you think

Registration to the tralac website is required in order to download this file. Registration is free of charge and for monitoring purposes only.