Building capacity to help Africa trade better

Intra-Africa trade by REC: 2020 update


Intra-Africa trade by REC: 2020 update

The African Union (AU) recognises 8 officially recognised regional economic communities (RECs). These are regarded as building blocks to the AfCFTA. Overlapping membership complicates the implementation processes.

This infographic provides an overview of total Intra-Africa trade for 2020 and the REC share of intra-Africa trade for the following RECs:

  • Arab Maghreb Union (AMU) – 3.6%

  • Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) – 17.51%

  • Community of Sahel–Saharan States (CEN–SAD) – 19.5%

  • East African Community (EAC) – 5.67%

  • Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) – 5.33%

  • Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) – 11.01%

  • Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) – 2.58%

  • Southern African Development Community (SADC) – 34.79%

Please note that this is a preview only. The complete infographic is available to download.

Intra-Africa trade by REC: 2020 update
Tell us what you think

A user account is required to download these files. Registration to the tralac website is free of charge and for monitoring purposes only.


Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Tel +27 21 880 2010