Building capacity to help Africa trade better

Trading Under the AfCFTA – a Guide for Botswana


Trading Under the AfCFTA – a Guide for Botswana

When trading under the AfCFTA begins, Botswana’s trade with SACU and SADC member states will continue under existing regimes.

As a customs union, SACU has a common external tariff and a common customs territory. There are no customs duties on intra-SACU trade. To protect the integrity of the customs union, SACU member states have made a collective offer of tariff concessions in the AfCFTA. Botswana will continue to trade in goods, with other SACU member states under SACU rules. Trade in services is not covered in SACU, each member state has its own commitments in the AfCFTA. 

Botswana, together with the other 12 SADC member states that are party to the SADC FTA, will continue to trade with one another under these SADC FTA rules. Angola, Comoros and DRC are members of SADC, but have not joined the SADC FTA. Angola has submitted a tariff offer to join the FTA.

New preferential trade opportunities for Botswana under the AfCFTA will be with non-SACU, non-SADC countries in East, West, North and Central Africa, with whom Botswana currently trades under WTO tariffs.

This infographic was prepared for an AfCFTA Stakeholder Sensitization Workshop held on 14 November 2023.

Trading Under the AfCFTA – a Guide for Botswana

Registration to the tralac website is required to download these files.


Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Tel +27 21 880 2010