Building capacity to help Africa trade better

Intra-Africa trade by REC: 2021 update


Intra-Africa trade by REC: 2021 update

The African Union (AU) recognises 8 officially recognised regional economic communities (RECs). These are regarded as building blocks to the AfCFTA. Overlapping membership complicates the implementation processes.

This infographic provides an overview of total Intra-Africa trade for 2021 and the REC share of intra-Africa trade for the following RECs:

  • Arab Maghreb Union (AMU) – 5.44%

  • Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) – 20.32%

  • Community of Sahel–Saharan States (CEN–SAD) – 16.59%

  • East African Community (EAC) – 4.76%

  • Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) – 5.9%

  • Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) – 10.18%

  • Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) – 4.7%

  • Southern African Development Community (SADC) – 32.12%

Please note that this is a preview only. The complete infographic is available to download.

Intra-Africa trade by REC: 2021 update

Registration to the tralac website is required to download these files.


Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Tel +27 21 880 2010