Building capacity to help Africa trade better

Regional integration tops council of ministers meeting


Regional integration tops council of ministers meeting

Regional integration tops council of ministers meeting
Photo credit: World Bank | Gerardo Pesantez

The implementation of the regional integration process of the member States of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) and financial situation will top the meeting agenda of the Council of Ministers of the sub-region set for 14-15 of this month, in Lilongwe, Malawi.

The expert of SADC, who are meeting since Saturday to prepare the meeting of the ministers, said so Tuesday.

According to the experts, the ministers will examine the current state of the process of regional economic integration, namely the free trade zone, customs union and cooperation with other regional organisations for development and mobilisation of resource.

The document also foresees the valuation of investments in infrastructure and the implementation of programmes under the African Union and the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD), an initiative which aims to change the current reality of the continent.

The event will also examine the report of activities performed by the Executive Secretariat, since the last Summit held in August 2012 in Maputo, Mozambique.

The participants will analyse the issue of the SADC Court, which has not worked since 2010. The meeting will run under the chairmanship of Foreign Minister of Mozambique, Oldemiro Baloi.

The Angolan delegation of experts comprises specialists from the ministries of Foreign Affairs, Finance, Transport, Trade and senior officials of the national secretariat of SADC and the Angolan embassy in Mozambique.

The Session of Council of Ministers will also be marked by the appointment of the new executive secretary of the organisation.

The event aims to prepare the 33rd Summit of 14 Heads of State and Government of SADC, scheduled for 17 and 18 August in Lilongwe.

At this summit, the Head of State of Malawi, Joyce Banda, will take up the rotating presidency of SADC, succeeding his Mozambican counterpart, Armando Guebuza.

SADC comprises Angola, South Africa, Botswana, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Mozambique, Malawi, Lesotho, Mauritius, Seychelles, Namibia, Swaziland and Madagascar, this last is suspended from the organisation.


Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Tel +27 21 880 2010