

OVERVIEW OF ECONOMIC PARTNERSHIP AGREEMENTS

Updated January 2017

REGION	CURRENT STATUS	NEXT STEPS
WEST AFRICA	The stepping stone EPA with Côte d'Ivoire was signed on 26 November 2008, approved by the European Parliament on 25 March 2009, and ratified by the Ivoirian National Assembly on 12 August 2016. It entered into provisional application on 3 September 2016. The stepping stone EPA with Ghana was signed on 28 July 2016, ratified on 3 August 2016 by the Ghanaian Parliament and approved by the European Parliament on 1 December 2016. It entered into provisional application on 15 December 2016.	agreements are provisionally applied. First meetings of the joint
	Negotiations of the regional EPA were closed by Chief Negotiators on 6 February 2014 in Brussels. The text was initialed on 30 June 2014, and on 10 July 2014 ECOWAS Heads of State endorsed the EPA for signature. The signature process is currently ongoing.	

REGION	CURRENT STATUS	NEXT STEPS
CENTRAL AFRICA	Cameroon signed the EPA between the EU and Central Africa as the only country in the region on 15 January 2009. The European Parliament gave its consent in June 2013. In July 2014 the Parliament of Cameroon approved the ratification of the Agreement and on 4 August 2014 the agreement entered into provisional application. The second EPA Committee between Cameroon and the EU took place in December 2016 in Yaoundé. It discussed the state of play of implementation and related issues (rules of origin, liberalisation, accompanying measures, etc.). The Parties signed the first Decision of the EPA Committee adopting its Rules of procedure. Contacts are ongoing between the region and the EU on accession to this EPA by other Central African States.	Meeting of the EPA Committee: The third meeting will take place in Brussels in 2017. In the meantime, discussions will continue between the Parties to deepen the implementation of the agreement. Negotiations are also ongoing to agree a protocol on rules of origin.
EASTERN AND SOUTHERN AFRICA (ESA)	In 2009 Mauritius, Seychelles, Zimbabwe and Madagascar signed an Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA). The Agreement is provisionally applied since 14 May 2012. The European Parliament gave its consent on 17 January 2013. The inaugural EPA Committee was held in October 2012 in Brussels, and the latest, fifth, meeting took place in December 2016 in Brussels. The Customs Cooperation Committee and the Joint Development Committee also met alongside the EPA Committee. During this meeting, following negotiations during the autumn, both Parties agreed on a package modernising the rules of origin for this EPA.	Meeting of the EPA Committee: The sixth meeting will take place in the last quarter of 2017. Both Parties agreed to jointly define the scope and objectives of the possible deepening of the current EPA before launching the process.

REGION	CURRENT STATUS	NEXT STEPS
EAST AFRICAN COMMUNITY (EAC)	The negotiations for the regional EPA were successfully concluded on 16 October 2014. On 1 September 2016, Kenya and Rwanda signed the Economic Partnership Agreement between the East African Community and the EU. All EU Member States and the EU have also signed the Agreement.	The ratification process is ongoing with Kenya having ratified and Rwanda having signed. All the EAC members will discuss the signature of the EPA in the next EAC Summit to consider how to move ahead as a region.
SOUTHAFRICAN DEVELOPMENT COMMUNITY (SADC) EPA Group	On 15 July 2014 the EPA negotiations were successfully concluded in South Africa. This ended ten years of negotiations and produced a comprehensive agreement with the whole SADC EPA Group including South Africa. The agreement was signed by the EU and the SADC EPA group on 10 June 2016 and the European Parliament gave its consent on 14 September 2016.	The agreement applies provisionally (pending ratification by all EU Member States) as of 10 October 2016 between the EU and SACU. Mozambique is expected to ratify in 2017. The first meeting of the joint Trade and Development Committee will take place in the first quarter of 2017.
CARIBBEAN	 The CARIFORUM – EU EPA was signed in October 2008 and approved by the European Parliament in March 2009. The EPA joint institutions have met regularly since 2010: The Joint CARIFORUM-EU Council (ministers) held its third meeting in Georgetown in July 2015. The Trade and Development Committee (senior officials) held its sixth meeting in Kingston, Jamaica, in November 2016 The Consultative Committee representing civil society held its second meeting in Brussels in April 2016 	 Both regions need to: continue working on the further implementation of the various aspects of the EPA; agree on a joint system for monitoring the EPA; negotiate an agreement to protect geographical indications (GIs), valuable regional product names. The fourth meeting of the Joint Council will take place in Brussels in 2017.

REGION	CURRENT STATUS	NEXT STEPS
PACIFIC	Signed by the EU and Papua New Guinea (PNG) on 30 July and by Fiji on 11 December 2009. The EP gave its consent on 19 January 2011. The Parliament of Papua New Guinea ratified the EPA on 25 May 2011. On 17 July 2014 Fiji decided to start provisionally applying the Agreement. The fourth meeting of the Trade Committee established under the EPA took place in Brussels in June 2015.	