Trading Under the AfCFTA – a Guide for Algeria

Algeria's trade with GAFTA member states will continue under existing regimes...

Greater Arab Free Trade Area (GAFTA)



Egypt, Tunisia, Libya, Morocco and Sudan (as well as a number of other states outside of Africa)

Guided Trade Initiative (GTI)



Cameroon, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Rwanda, South Africa and Tunisia

Algeria is a member of the GAFTA, a free trade area that consists of 18 members spanning North Africa and the Middle East. While it is not an African regional economic community, Algeria's GAFTA membership means that it is already trading under a free trade agreement with Egypt, Tunisia, Libya, Morocco and Sudan.

New preferential trading opportunities for Algeria under the AfCFTA will include non-GAFTA member states. This is a substantial improvement in continental market access, with new preferential access to 47 African markets



The Guided Trade Initiative

Under the Guided Trade Initiative (GTI) Algeria is able to trade certain goods duty free with Cameroon, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Rwanda, South Africa and Tunisia, since these countries have implemented Provisional Schedules of Tariff Concessions. The GTI – a pilot program designed to test the operational, institutional, legal, and trade policy aspects of the AfCFTA - was launched in Accra, Ghana, on October 7, 2022. Eight State Parties took part: Cameroon, Egypt, Ghana, Mauritius, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Tunisia. Others with their Provisional Schedules of Tariff Concessions authenticated by the AfCFTA Secretariat could also join, and Algeria did so in December 2023. Goods eligible to be traded under the GTI include ceramic tiles, batteries, horticultural products and flowers, avocados, palm oil, tea, rubber, and air conditioner components.

AfCFTA Operational Instruments



The AfCFTA e-tariffbook is a digital platform containing the tariff schedules with applicable tariff rates for all AfCFTA State Parties based on the WCO 6-digit Harmonized System (HS). Goods are classified in three Categories: i) Category A – non sensitive products, ii) Category B – sensitive products, and iii) Category C – products that are excluded from liberalization. http://etariff.au-afcfta.org/





The AfCFTA Rules of Origin Manual provides detailed information on how to determine the national origin of goods so that they can be traded between State Parties under the AfCFTA preferential tariff rates.



https://au-afcfta.org/rules-of-origin/



The AfCFTA Online Mechanism for Reporting, Monitoring and Elimination of NTBs is a portal for online reporting of identified non-tariff barriers (NTBs), including for reporting via SMS. Reported NTBs and the status of their resolution can be tracked. www.tradebarriers.africa





The Pan-African Paymentand Settlement System (PAPSS), developed by the African Export-Import Bank (Afreximbank) in collaboration with the African Union and AfCFTA Secretariat, is a cross-border payment and settlement infrastructure for transactions across Africa. PAPSS allows for payment and settlement using local currencies. https://papss.com/







