



All-Party Parliamentary Group on Trade Out of Poverty

Hearings: Inquiry into the UK's Africa Free Trade initiative

Tuesday, 19 April, 2016

Inquiry Committee Members attending:

Lord Stephen Green, Mr. Ali Mufuruki, Ambassador Darlington Mwape, Prof. Myles Wickstead

Format of the hearings:

5 minutes speech from each participant, followed by Q&A with Committee Members

Morning Hearing

10:00 – 13:00, Committee Room 4, House of Lords

- 10:00 10:20 Rt Hon Andrew Mitchell MP, former Secretary of State for International Development
- 10:20 11:40 Mr. Jean-Louis Billon, Minister, Ministry of Commerce, Côte d'Ivoire Dr. Patrick Gomes, Secretary-General, ACP Group Mr. Taffere Tesfachew, Director, Division for Africa, LDCs and Special Programmes, UNCTAD Dr. David Luke (TBC), Coordinator, African Trade Policy Centre, UNECA
- 11:40 13:00Ms Dorothy Tembo, Deputy Executive Director, ITC
Mr. Frank Matseart, CEO, TMEA
Mr. Brian Count, Chairman, InfraCo Africa Development
Mr. Paul Walters, Lead, UK Trade Policy Unit
Mr. Harry Hagan, Senior Economic Advisor, Africa Division, DFID

Afternoon Hearing

14:30 – 16:30, Committee Room 18, House of Commons

- 14:30 15:30 Dr. Paul Brenton, Trade Practice Leader in the Africa Region, World Bank Dr. Mohammad Razzaque, Head, International Trade & Regional Cooperation Section, Commonwealth Secretariat Dr. Maximiliano Mendez-Parra, Research Fellow, ODI Prof. Jim Rollo, Emeritus Professor, University of Sussex
 15:30 – 16:30 Ms. Trudi Hartzenberg, Executive Director, tralac Mr. Ron Layton, CEO, Light Years IP
 - Mr. Ron Layton, CEO, Light Years IP Mr. Oliver Everett, CEO, CWEIC Mr. Ian Randall, Chairman, Wasafiri Consulting; Advisor, Grow Africa